60 Comments
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

No need to loosen the belt for this 200 something listener band suggestion! I’m in a brand new band from LA called Pony Talk, and I think our second release “Dog With a Bone” might be right up your alley! We’re obsessed with the “loud quiet loud” approach and guitar riffs

https://open.spotify.com/track/1c41DwFaQAvaELfDYgefgG?si=yrflZ_Z-SJ6pPOKPRGca1g

Expand full comment
author

you might want to take a look at the full playlist :)

Expand full comment

Omg I’m a dummy! Thank you for the add!! Someday I’d love your guidance on newish bands with great guitar riffs so I can stop yelling at the clouds about it.

Expand full comment
author

that's a good prompt I gotta think about it!

Expand full comment

This delightful chamber-poppy EP was recorded by an alumnus of the music school where I work as a librarian. Her voice reminds me of Shara Nova/My Brightest Diamond, and her arrangements are skillful and beautiful (and she definitely fulfills the "small follower number" requirement).

https://open.spotify.com/album/3xQPEBXK5dipwgEMQu3v65?si=dx5OuA3BTjiet3DUFiOcLQ

Expand full comment

There's a relatively obscure radio show broadcast in the UK called The Curve Ball which has been playing tracks from her new EP quite a bit lately. Here's the most recent episode in which she was featured: https://www.mixcloud.com/radioshoes/curve-ball-august-29-2024/

Expand full comment

Oh wow, that’s amazing! I’ll definitely let her know, thank you!

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

There is a Youtube channel I subscribe to called Underrated Albums (https://www.youtube.com/@UnderratedAlbums) and one of the artists I discovered is Libertree and she only has 12 monthly listeners.

Another artist I love, who has 13.7k monthly listeners is an Australian singer named Jaguar Jonze. I love her work so much!

Expand full comment
author

nice thank you for the tip on both!

Expand full comment

Your playlists are actually THE BEST, Gabbie. My band Local Bylaws is already on one of them with a ska song "Crystalline," but since then we have many more Old-Head-coded songs to choose from. Might I recommend our song "Impostor Syndrome" since the lyric video is literally comprised of my home videos from 2000-2004? I just included that video in my most recent Substack post, and would be honored for you to watch it and see if it provides the required nostalgia!

https://open.substack.com/pub/ginpen/p/theres-such-a-thing-as-too-humble?utm_source=share&utm_medium=android&r=l0exr

Expand full comment
author

oh yay so happy to see you on substack! of course, I'll have a listen

Expand full comment
Sep 12Liked by Gabbie

https://open.spotify.com/album/1MYKIaNTldxjMjrk34v5bM?si=G0aRcXTfRc-szTD3ioEKNw

Probably my favorite of this year so far. Catchy, fun indie rock pop. Great songwriting. They are great (about 12,000 followers on spotify)

Expand full comment

I’ve got a couple of artists I’d like to share!

Shadwick Wilde also sings in the band Quiet Hollers who put out my favorite album of 2015. Shadwick’s solo stuff is a bit gentler and quiet. It feels like the perfect soundtrack to getting into your old beat up pick up truck on a cold morning and waiting for it to warm up while the sun rises. Think maybe if Noah Kahan was from Louisville and used to play in hardcore bands?

https://open.spotify.com/track/0Duwq0w1v3Go4o18W8cFUK?si=wutTWgJAQZWGu8u-3JrfiA

The next is The Exit. They were supposed to be big… they were signed originally by Walter Schrieffel to his Some Records label. Their record Home For An Island is a perfect blend of 00’s NY indie, reggae and post punk. They ended up jumping to Wind-Up Records and re-mixed the album (it’s this version here that available on streaming) and added a couple new tracks. The original Some Records album is one of my favorite albums of that era but the remixed version is quite good!

https://open.spotify.com/album/7kt4JEjJWchoaoXy59bE3i?si=QHmoxEM-SMu8E5ofy6V3WA

And lastly… some shameless self promotion, my old band Even Thieves.

We ended in 2017 shortly after I recorded vocals for our full length album because I was diagnosed with leukemia and went through treatment which took about two years. I’m very proud of the album, but it never actually got promoted or officially released. I uploaded it to Spotify in 2022. It was mixed by Sean O’Keefe and Stuart Richardson. I think you’ll hear echoes of bands like The Cure, The Killers, New Order, U2, We Were Promised Jetpacks and White Lies. Like modern new-wave/post-punk mixed with some indie rock vibes?

https://open.spotify.com/album/0Aa27zLIzAl2kvGykfLJbA?si=0BM9-uNkQqmjJPILXm5hRg

Expand full comment
author

it's funny, i always think about what my cut-off is for "new." my immediate instinct is to say, "well this stuff is too old," because i'm always sharing artists from the last two years or so, with a very obvious bias to music that has come out in the last few months. but people who aren't paying attention to new music probably consider the last decade or so to be new. i think i might be missing a trick ignoring that entire time period. all that to say, thanks, i'm saving this for a rainy day!

Expand full comment

I really boofed this one, I should have just stopped after Shadwick haha! “New”, “new to me” or “new to most” are very different things. I’ll do better next time! 😂😎

Expand full comment
author

NO please don’t! there aren’t actually rules here! this is an open-ended philosophical question!

Expand full comment

I appreciate that! But I will find newer things to bring to the table.🤞

Expand full comment

https://open.spotify.com/album/2H1gXPlJuXbtwkW7FZqkmD?si=qQScHG2LSSyqEZSNH_8OYg

Charity Kiss! A local band that’s very early/mid 2000s indie alt flavored, I’ve been going to shows since 2018 and they’re consistently awesome

Expand full comment

I nominate myself... an original solo instrumental electric guitarist: https://music.apple.com/us/album/empire-of-light/494025538

Expand full comment
author

very cool, thank you!!

Expand full comment

Couple local bands I'm friends with I'd love to see get more love. - Massive Nightmares - Worth It. Big time Replacements vibes, but damn solid hooks and shout-along choruses. The rest of their EP is great too.

Little Low - Move On especially from the Reasons to Grow EP. Starts out sounding like a slightly more emo Sleater-Kinney and then that bridge hits and moves to the chorus and it becomes something else entirely.

Expand full comment
author

I love the name massive nightmares for a band

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

How good's that Bench Press album?! I've been digging the Bures Band, also from Australia, for some 70s type Laurel Canyon vibes. Looking forward to listening to the list.

Expand full comment
author

so good! I'll check out your rec ASAP

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

I know what you mean about good Aussie music. Some of my favourites are from there: Eliza & The Delusionals, Clews, Elizabeth M. Drummond, Angie McMahon, & my absolute fave, Annie Hamilton. Mainly a mix of Indie/Pop/Rock.

Expand full comment
author

ok it really sounds like I need to make that playlist

Expand full comment

You could make it Aus/NZ & include The Beth's too!

Expand full comment
author

I love the Beths soooo much

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

https://open.spotify.com/track/3XpuB3AZjYD4R75NvJAIwc?si=Gb936i0GQrKO9JXrxmnajg

Hoping That Your Lonely by Sleepyhead The band has been around since the 90s but to my ears their new songs are some of their best

Expand full comment
author

thank you! the name sounds so familiar to me...

Expand full comment

There are more than 1 band with the name Sleepyhead. This one was around in NYC in the 90s. They did several shows with Yo La Tengo, and Love Child. Here is their website https://www.sleepyheadrockband.com/sleepyhead

Expand full comment
Sep 9Liked by Gabbie

The Tiarras are a Latina power trio from Austin who play hard-edged rock/pop. Very entertaining, no nonsense band. Also, they are sisters.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds right up my alley

Expand full comment

I just want to note that I love that you share bandcamp embeds rather than spotify embeds! It's so much friendlier to the artists!

Expand full comment
author

I am kind of forced to share Spotify playlists (although I really need to put my new ones up on Apple and YouTube, I keep forgetting!) so the least I can do is embed Bandcamp in the feature section

Expand full comment

Parker Woodland’s new album! Erin Walter is a friend of Herizon Music 🎶

https://open.spotify.com/album/3cqAhur7SZKPuHD0n8smxN?si=vTow9RyoR6WPRMVnrXz0tw

Expand full comment

Empris is a great band out of Tulsa, OK. Check em out!

https://music.apple.com/us/artist/empris/1710896397

Expand full comment

So many amazing Australian bands lately (Gut Health have too many monthly listens for Known Unknowns)! I've been digging 'smol fish' from Perth/Boorloo though - their new single is fab but I really loved their Crocodile Tears EP from last year. Smol in name and Spotify listens but hopefully not for long!

Expand full comment

Oooh Bench Press made me reach for the nearest Ought record (I’m in the gym, I reached my finger into my iTunes and pressed on ‘Ought’)…

Expand full comment

Hi Gabbie. By way of introduction, I'm also an avid supporter of new music, hunting down obscure gems on Bandcamp and holding them up to the light by way of a monthly radio-style show (although it's not on the radio, just Mixcloud). The aesthetic I’m coming from is that I like a good tune (emphasis on melody & composition, rather than rhythm/repetition/rocking out), but I want to be surprised. Genre-defiance is the point, and it most often manifests along the lines of chamber-art-folk-pop.

I’m not a Spotify user so, until you requested listener counts (in parentheses below), I had no idea how pitifully low these artists’ are. Here are a slew of my favorites that are all under 1000.

A.L. (Alice Louise) Lacey (9)

Rasmus Dahl (17)

Paul Garside (24)

Philippe Crab (43)

Yael Hayem (77)

Quincey May Brown (89)

Edward Randell (129)

Alex Pester (212)

Rosie Miles (316)

Holly Henderson (322)

The Carmelittles (322)

Sara Wolff (453)

Tex Patrello (482)

Middle Sattre (673)

Bly Wallentine (804)

The Junipers (905)

Babi (968)

Expand full comment
author

a treasure trove -- thank you.

the listener count is just a shortcut, really, and one that seems most accessible given Spotify is the most used streaming platform

Expand full comment

Cool to see Holly Henderson mentioned here! I’ve been following her music for awhile after seeing Pete Thorn talk about her on YouTube (he produced her Monday Green record.) She’s a hell of a player/singer/songwriter.

I’ll check out the rest of these artists!

Expand full comment

I don’t do the streamers. If you’re in the mood for lyrical lyrics paired with melodic melodies sung in a rich baritone, here I am https://treyroquemusic.bandcamp.com

Expand full comment

Hi Gabbie! New subscriber here! Enjoying learning about your finds here! Mississippi Delta-born songwriter Will Griffith aka The Great Dying has a new LP of outsider Americana out called ‘A Constant Goodbye’. Record goes a lot of places: Southern Rock, Western Operetta, Shoegaze, Magnetic Fields stuff with beats, Buck Owens/Hag style Classic Country, Alt Country, etc.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/4tA5OIywhtSMAfUAstZDVb?si=73yfLRaIR6yod8qJ9iKNig

Expand full comment
author

very cool! I'll check it out (and welcome!)

Expand full comment

Ooooh this is fun (new subscriber here)!!

One of the definites for my 2024 AOTY list is the NY band Amiture with their latest release “Mother Engine”. This is their second album after 2021’s “The Beach” and a 2022 EP. Perhaps they’re not recent enough? Just over 13k monthly listens on Spotify.

If you have a chance please give it a listen: https://open.spotify.com/album/6nzUNhv2m52ETJKp67PLZ2

Expand full comment

Hey Gabbie,

Just dug up an awesome article on why most folks stop seeking new music: https://theconversation.com/why-do-we-stop-exploring-new-music-as-we-get-older-200080

Yep, there is science behind it.

Me, I cannot go through a day or week without digging for music gold. There is always something new or interesting to explore or listen to. I turn 58 next week and have found more cool stuff in the last 5 years than most will in a lifetime, cos they all stop at 20-ish. My 30 y.o. niece visited the other day and she complained about being 'no good music anymore'. You know, and I know, that this is complete bullshit. I told her as much.

Just gotta keep on exploring...

Expand full comment

Wow, I just love all your playlists! You know exactly what I like :) Here are a few from my 2024 To Listen playlist:

Anyway by La Sécurité (<20,000 listeners)

https://open.spotify.com/track/3UxA34eO5Ueii16F9FklMY?si=46da73d96e1c4879

Con Licencia by Orquesta Akokְàn (<20,000 listeners)

https://open.spotify.com/track/4RWVRYKPD4PzM3HLSGDB0k?si=9c5fad724fea4259

Hydrosphere by Andromeda Turre (<1,000 listeners)

https://open.spotify.com/track/6IAyiwKxkgSD8UXq6KYVV1?si=6f181689ce274c77

Beat by Aluminum (<2,000 listeners)

https://open.spotify.com/track/4gZQV8KLVazvTde7oSnYTU?si=c2c18ad3046d4d00

(I think you'll especially love this one)

And I finished my AllMusic.com Editors Choice playlist for August:

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0u9CsdG2CIhn9dbS1qb7XL?si=adcc69d0915e4e8f

Expand full comment

"This great such and such" by AP Macroeconomics is a fantastic album, if you don't know them. They deserve so much more! Also Zivsick, some cool jazz-rap from Canada, recently dropped a killer debut album.

Expand full comment

Gabbie, are you familiar with Midnight Rodeo? They don’t have a ton of releases yet but what is there is really good and their live set is awesome

https://open.spotify.com/track/6eE7zONzz6wYXh2yvPZ8p6?si=kRHg8FTuSmGK9iR7VWJrCA&context=spotify%3Aalbum%3A0LcoaIJnq6YxE3RQ5qgboS

Expand full comment
author

they actually nearly made it into this list!!

Expand full comment

I really like Elijah Mann's stuff. He's got 8k monthly listeners, deserves some more love imo. I'm rather new so not a clue what you're into, Gabbie, but figured I might give this recommendation thing a shot.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/2TErkwv1p8mwuBB2Cc99ND?si=jvuKklA4STyXSb3iGVxQZw

Expand full comment
author

Don't worry about genre -- I try to recommend all kinds, regardless of my personal listening habits

Expand full comment

I have been digging Julie Aubé, an indie folk/alt-country/ contemporary Acadian singer from New Brunswick. I bought her 2022 album on a whim while in a small record shop in Saint John on a trip last month, and it's already in heavy rotation. https://open.spotify.com/track/4HzFhRUmzZXGtWjS0W6KZo?si=6wsbfygWTzy3snO_LDY7gA

Expand full comment

I loved Bench Press mention. Another great Melbourne band in a similar mode is Pinch Points - cool songs, cool people and a whole lotta fun live. "Copper" is a fave song of mine.

Expand full comment
author

nice, thanks! saving them now

Expand full comment

https://open.spotify.com/album/469HJWdUEfT5EdeB3KBpQR?si=pkKVpD3ITdCKeiTEXx7YzA

Molly from copenhagen. Their latest offering. Nestled in the sweet spot between husker dü, dinosaur jr and the wipers.

Expand full comment
author

all reference points very up my alley

Expand full comment

https://open.spotify.com/artist/1YParpSuHJhb7mzAHVF8PQ?si=I03rtZ_DRMey7c9FLgShGg

New here and wanted to share a mostly local band here in central PA.

Expand full comment
author

local-ish! I'll check it out ASAP

Expand full comment